endlessly creating

teaching, books, projects, & other things i love

Classroom Organization

1 Comment

I’m trying to post more often, so here’s a round-up of some of the things I do to stay organized and provide my students with the resources they need for success!

 Handouts

My desk gets messy sooo fast. Combine that with my students’ tendency to lose things, and we go through a ton of handouts! If I keep extra copies on my desk I end up buried in paper, but if I file them away somewhere I have to stop class to dig them out when students show up without their materials. Here’s how I keep my current papers easily accessible during a unit:

IMG_20130114_153542

They’re tacked to the bulletin board next to my desk, along with my schedule and other helpful things!

Yeah, I know, this is probably a no-brainer. I actually found those folders in a random cabinet and figured I might as well use them! Once I’ve handed out copies of a story I just drop the extras in the envelope and put a sticky-note tab on them so I can quickly identify what I”m looking for later.

Color-Coding

I don’t know how I would keep all my classes straight without color-coding. My schedule, file cabinet, turn-in trays, and these boxes with students’ reading folders are all divided by color.

Well, they used to be color-coded. We rearranged the 7th grade classes part-way through the year.

Well, they used to be color-coded. We rearranged the 7th grade classes part-way through the year. Shoulda taken the pictures before the boxes got all beat up!

I even use matching highlighters to identify students on my overdue library book list and when I leave sub plans. Yeah, I’m a little crazy.

Mentor Texts

Even with my lovely hanging organizers and the kids (theoretically) using the file cabinet to keep track of handouts, I like to keep the mentor texts for a current unit out in the open so students can reference them when they’re working on classwork:

These copies include annotations we went over during class to help students identify text features.

These copies include annotations we went over during class to help students identify text features.

During writer’s workshop kids will sometimes come up to the wall to double-check an example text! It’s also a nice way to display what we’ve been working on in case an administrator comes by :)

One thought on “Classroom Organization

  1. Love it! Nothing wrong with organization. It’s a good example to teach the younger folks…

Leave a Reply

